Los Angeles based composer and multi-instrumentalist Jay James has been focused on translating emotions into cinematic and serene compositions. Since graduating college, he had the opportunity to produce Lonr and B.K Habermehl’s “Right On Time” alongside Grammy-nominated producer Jeff Gitty and Payton Long which was featured on a new episode of Issa Rae’s HBO show Insecure.

Following two projects, It’s Beautiful and When All Is Said and Done, the Ghanian producer is currently crafting a third upcoming album — titled GLORY, which is set to release later this year. Today, Jay released its first video under the same name featuring themes of growth and maturity.

“Glory” is an ethereal blend of soulful jazzy instrumentation. Violins grace listeners’ ears as light high-hats transcend us into ethereal, hypnotic space. A pulsing metronome serves as a heartbeat bracing for what’s next. He builds on this energy with rippling bass-lines against melancholic keys to create harboring resentment. His production concludes with with vibrant electric guitar and crisp reverb.

He has also released a visual for the track directed by Noah Kentis.

Visually, the 22-year-old undergoes his own personal cathartic resurrection. Jay is found in a somber-lit room. There is a point of curiosity with a hole in the wall: how it got there and what caused it. Nonetheless, a dark figure possess the mind and space as an ominus incubus. He confronts this demon in a suffocated space.

Glory is about pushing past “the darkness” and inevitable harsh realities of life and allowing oneself to see and appreciate the light and “glory” in it.

Jay James

This album will include inspiring elements of soul, jazz, and hip hop. Like his other bodies of work, listeners can expect GLORY to be versatile and inviting.

Stream “Glory” on all platforms and follow Jay James on Twitter, Instagram and Soundcloud.

Yo! That Slaps! • © All Rights Reserved • Curated, written and produced by Morayo Oduguwa.

Dope music, deep reviews: you could be next. This blog supports independent artists & labels.

Logo & Website design by Blanca Navarro